Oxford Music Online

Oxford Music Online provides the visitor and year pass holder of the NMI with access to the full text of The New Grove.

Oxford Music Online is a major point of access to reference works in the field of musicology. It contains the full text of:

  • The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, second edition, edited by Stanley Sadie and John Tyrrell (London, 2001),
  • The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, edited by Stanley Sadie (London, 1992), and
  • The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, second edition, edited by Barry Kernfeld (London, 2002).

Included are 50.000 articles on every aspect of music from antiquity to the present, biographies, work lists, music examples, and thousands of links to music sites and sound archives.

Besides The New Grove, Oxford Music Online includes:

  • The Oxford Dictionary of Music en
  • The Oxford Companion to Music.

Oxford Music Online »